Community

I believe the way we are going to effectuate the most effective genuine change is by de-ptsing ourselves. Several mechanisms are wielded by Miscavology to keep the sheep in the pen and to keep the more adventurous ones in fear of straying too far. The most common weapon is the disconnect card. It is used to keep people in a state of terror of losing their family, friends and livelihoods. Many on-line, or at least in good standing, public and former staff have reached out for advice on how to keep pursuing the truth without losing one or more of what they consider integral parts of their communities. As more appear and more are made aware of fellow independent minded folk in their vicinities little communities are forming. The effects of the support independent Scientologists give to one another are remarkable personally, on the family dynamic, and in terms of business networking.

While watching these successes begin to unfold, it occurred to me that if the process of forming communities were aided and a form of coordination amongst neighboring and even distant similar communities began – however informally – the de-ptsing could expand exponentially with little effort. The ripple effects of independent thinking Scientologists connecting are immeasurable.

Some inquiring minds have also been asking, but what of my Bridge? Well, for starters I have found the case gain being attained by independent Scientologists simply connecting up with one another and validating one another’s gains that were were suppressed under Miscavology are spectacular. Escaping from the suppression and Reverse Scientology practiced in Miscavology tends to rehab every ability you once thought you had attained but were convinced by reges, recruiters, E/Os acting for reges, execs acting as reges, etc were canceled due to your “out ethics” for failing to mortgage your home or drain your retirement account to fill DM’s coffers.

If you want to continue with formal auditing, I know there are some fine independent auditors whose dance cards are not full. I bet there are many more because I haven’t even really explored the free zone much.

But more fundamentally, the communities that independent minded Scientologists are so fearful of being expelled from are deviating more and more from the Aims of Scientology as promulgated by LRH. Those communities are becoming increasingly tolerant of and thus encouraging of insanity and criminality (particularly financial criminality). They are being leaned on hard to continue to contribute to the “wars” that Miscavige is so fond of declaring. Honest beings in those communities have long since been stripped of any rights. The able are increasingly being made to suffer rather than prosper, and when one manages to somehow reach greater heights, he or she is pressured to become a pimping cog in the financial irregularity machine.

So, let’s examine what we mean by community. What is a community? What kind of community do real Scientologists want? What are the benefits of sharing an ethical, sane community?

Malcolm Gladwell’s book Outliers begins with a chapter about a small town in Pennsylvania named Roseto. It was named after the village its Italian-American inhabitants’ ancestors had emigrated from during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Sometime in the 1950’s a guest speaker at a local medical conference, Dr. Stewart Wolf, happened to notice that there was an extremely low incidence of heart failure in Roseto. Wolf investigated for years to determine how this small burg could apparently beat what was then a nationwide epidemic.

Using every medical and scientific investigative means Wolf – with the aid of other doctors and a sociologist (John Bruhn) – failed to find a single physical common denominator that explained Rosetans’ longevity. They seemed to drink, smoke and eat fatty foods just as often as most other Americans.

Then:

What Wolf began to realize was that the secret of Roseto wasn’t diet or exercise or genes or location. It had to be Roseto itself. As Bruhn and Wolf walked around the town, they figured out why. They looked at how the Rosetans visited one another, stopping to chat in Italian on the street, say, or cooking for one another in their backyards. They learned about the extended family clans that underlay the town’s social structure. They saw how many homes had three generations living under one roof, and how much respect grandparents commanded. They went to mass at Our Lady of Mount Carmel and saw the unifying and calming effect of the church. They counted twenty-two separate civic organizations in a town of just under two thousand people. They picked up on the particular egalitarian ethos of the community, which discouraged the wealthy from flaunting their success and helped the unsuccessful obscure their failures.”

Wolf and Bruhn went on to discuss their findings at medical conferences across the country, “about the mysterious and magical benefits of people stopping to talk to one another on the street, and of having three generations under one roof. Living a long life, the conventional wisdom at the time said, depended to a great extent on who we were – that is, our genes. It depended on the decisions we made – on what we chose to eat, and how much we chose to exercise, and how effectively we were treated by the medical system. No one was used to thinking in terms of community.

Communication, great social activity, love and respect for family, attending a church that has a “unifying and calming effect”? Imagine that. Kind of sounds like a firm foundation for “A civilization without insanity, without criminals, and without war, where the able can prosper and honest beings can have rights, and where Man is free to rise to greater heights…”

Maybe we should stop being so confounded worried about being expelled from immoral, rapidly declining communities and start getting busy building ones in which we can be happy and of which we can be proud.

45 responses to “Community

  1. A fascinating new field of biology, called epigenetic biology (“biology above the genes”), scientifically supports the Roseto Study. The genes, apparently, are only the supreme determinant during a portion of prenatal life. Before and after, it is the environment that is key. The lectures series, “The Wisdom of Your Cells,” by Dr. Bruce H. Lipton covers it well.

    He did work in the late 1960s where he took a culture of the same type of cells and put them in different environments. The cells in one petri dish grew into muscle cells, the same parent cells in another dish grew into nerve cells, etc. The environment was the determining factor in the outcome for the same sets of parent cells.

    More fascinating, I think, is that Lipton’s lectures scientifically demonstrate many of LRH’s principles about the mind and life and he does it through the lens of biochemical actions only. Yet, he winds up in the exact same place LRH did –that we are spiritual beings and our ability to advance as individuals, as a species and as part of life depends on cooperation, not competition (Darwinism). Highly recommended set of lectures. Any parent should listen to them.

  2. I’ve been out of Scientology for over 9 years.

    But I’ve always stayed in touch with Scientologists, Ex-Scientologists and others who were attracted to Scientology by the ideals that L Ron Hubbard wrote in his books, and spoke about in his tapes, and used to form the group that became the Church of Scientology.

    These were people who had the courage to break away from convention, to think for themselves, and to devote themselves to life’s highest ideals.

    There is a reason I’ve stayed connected, even though I left: I have found that the ideals that Scientology was formed upon attracted the best people in the world.

    • ESMB, a community?

    • Allen,
      In the spirit of this article I’d like to apologize for being brusque and evaluative with you in an earlier exchange.

      Seems each of us were concerned about two different aspects of the situation. I understand your concern and its validity. I appreciate your expressing it and keeping attention on the welfare of Shelley.

      • Allen Stanfield

        To Jim:

        Dude – I’m from the natter boards. Where I come from, any brusqueness you may have displayed seemed like a fresh flower to me!

        Sorry for any brusqueness I may have displayed, myself.

        I’m not really used to all this politeness and don’t know how to close my post…should I curtsy or something now?

  3. I’m there I did just that. No one threatens me or my eternity. I truly think a lot of it comes down to knowing who you really are. That together with your integrity you will win.

    Marty, nicely written and I am sure for some it will be perhaps difficult at first however, use the tools you have made your own and go create and share with others.

  4. Marty, I love your blog. I love what you’re doing. Thanks for everything!

    That said, I do have a little trouble reading the solid text blocks on your blog though. Possibly consider changing the theme’s CSS or simply double-spacing between paragraphs.

  5. ClearlyMistreated

    Marty,
    As someone who’s grown up as a public Scientologist I can attest to the lack of community and sense of loneliness. Most of the people I knew when I was younger either joined the Sea Org or moved to LA or Clearwater. I had to disconnect with 3 out of the 5 people in my immediate family. When you are on-lines and moving up the Bridge you never have time for a social life. And now that I’m off-lines I can’t have real conversations with the people that are still there. We have some very dear wog friends that respect us for being Scientologists because we don’t push it on them and can laugh at ourselves. I have a few Scientology friends & family that I’ve felt safe in discussing your blog with and I have never felt closer to them. It is definitely helping.

  6. Wow Marty, this is beautiful! Thank you so much – it is inspiring, rehabilitating and so spot on! I love it!

  7. I had an interesting realization along these same lines yesterday. I’ve been off church lines now for 2-1/2 months. Startlingly so, but yet not unexpected, the biggest loss at the outset of stepping away from the insanity of the church was loss of a group. I’d had a fair number of “in good standing” on-lines Scn contacts at that time on Facebook. These “friends” gradually melted away from my Friends List after word got out that I was no longer in good odor with the group. Watching these stats decline was disheartening, immobilizing. I felt I no longer had a group! A couple nights ago after additional reading on various websites such as Marty’s, Scn-cult.com and Geir Isene’s, I came to the realization that I have a ton of friends in the independent Scn community and have now been delightedly and determinedly connecting up with old friends of mine – declared or not, but of the same mind. The value and strength of a caring, like minded, , in-communication community is not to be under-estimated and we are gaining in numbers! These are exciting times, aren’t they?

    • Linda,
      Yes they are exciting times. And HELLO, after all these years. I’m happy to see you carrying on and staying on top of this whole adventure.

      • Linda McGinley

        Hello Jim,
        And thank you! After all was said and done, I realized I’d done a Doubt Formula and had decided what group I wanted to be a part of.

        Sorry, I don’t remember where I know you from. If you would, please contact me on Facebook and we’ll carry on a seperate communication there!

  8. A beautiful piece, and something I needed to read after the searing three part expose.

  9. Dear Marty and Jim Logan,

    In my area I have tried communicating to on-line publics and staff that just turn me in to OSA. I have stopped that with the PR line to OSA that “It’s not my war”.

    I really don’t want to put myself in a position where I have no commline to extreme sane scientologists in my area. And I have many.

    My suggestion is that Jim Logan, who probably have more time for this job than Marty, put up a file of on-liners that thereby could connect in their areas. By that way onliners could communicate to eachother and make some local strategy.

    I know that OSA would infiltrate immediately, but that risk we must take. If the secret society within the secret society is found out, we all get SP declared, but, what the fuck, in these days it’s more or less a commendation. When everything is under control the SP declares will be lifted and we will all be heroes.

    My strategy is to get David Miscavige CommEved, and get a new leadership of my Church. My strategy is NOT to destroy what has been build up ower so many years of hardworking scientologists. The Church of Scientology International cannot be stopped. But it can be changed.

    Much Love
    OldTimer

    • Thanks. Stay tuned.

    • Old Timer,
      Stay tuned.

      Also, my own personal thoughts on the ‘stay in good standing’ issue may not be the same as someone else’s. I worked diligently for almost 15 years to get back in good standing. The way was barred with arbitraries, intolerable comm-lags of sometimes over a year to get an answer to a simple comm. More arbitraries. Etc., etc.

      I know what the sense of community in the ‘on lines’ scene means. The ARC with what appears to be like-minded individuals and a sense of commonality. It’s pretty good stuff too.

      I guess I’m lucky in that Grade O was done to full EP and I’ve never had any trouble getting a line to anyone. Some more above 2.0 than others, and those I’ve kept relationships with. Those below, I always try and maintain my ethics level and do something, anything, to aid them along. Even if it means putting in some ethics, which it usually does. For the most part, they respond and do end up a little farther up scale.

      The point is Old Timer, I understand you don’t want to be ‘declared’. I figure none of us who are falsely declared relish it. It is a lie and it has persisted for the group at least. Until recently that is, when these blogs started up. Then the first postulate of ourselves as good beings and good Scientologists, ethical Scientologists, was rehabbed and the lie is falling away.

      If you flow truth on your lines, the same will happen, the lies will fall away. That may mean that in the interim as you put that truth there, a lot of confusion may blow off. It may blow off at you. I suggest a more gradient approach then. Little by more.

      When it comes down to it, you are either raising the tone of the community with ethical actions or you can ‘agree’ with it and if it’s not ethical or is based on lies and aberration then you’ll end up down there with it.

      Restudy the PR Series, get creative, and put on the boots in the sky. If you get declared falsely, well, there are now those who can pick you up, get your ethics sorted out (no victims here) and get you back in the saddle.

      By the way, what did you study today or did you audit someone? Did you participate in some community group to enhance the being’s next door survival? You get the idea.

    • OldTimer, I understand you completely. C of S can be salvaged when the SPs leave it.

    • Old Timer I gotta say I love the following line:

      “we all get SP declared, but, what the fuck, in these days it’s more or less a commendation.”

      Sad but true in so many cases!

      Sometimes what I think will happen is that over 80% of Scientologists will end up being declared leaving only the 20% in his thrall and the 2 1/2 as what he’d consider “executive material”.

  10. Community, sangha, social networks, what in other belief systems is called “fellowship” does not depend on any brand or flavor of religion to exist, but has existed since the beginning of time.

  11. Marty in summation said in part: “Maybe we should stop being so confounded worried about being expelled from immoral, rapidly declining communities….”
    Indeed! If this was truly practiced and one’s personal integrity was their constant, functioning stable datum, eventually all that would remaining in their “community” would be DM and the EO’s! Like a Phoenix rising, the alternative and independent community as envisioned in this wonderful post would be the new ideal scene and standard…..beautiful, and peaceful, too.

  12. Hi Marty and Jim, I am very glad that you are doing what you are doing on this blog. I prefer to not give out my name at this time due to repercussions this would have on my immediate comm lines and survival but , but I want to say that you have my full support and that I follow what is happening very closely. I am definitely on board! Keeping Scientology Working is what this is all about and us taking responsibility for our religion. I can see a great renaissance of the Church and Scientology as the suppression is being moved off the lines. Keep up your good work! We have worked in close proximity in the past and will do so again.

    • I’m With You,
      It seems we are working closely now. Thanks for writing. Giving credit where it is due, this blog site was/is created by Marty. He’s the one writing the articles with the tenacity to survival of his dynamic. That dynamic seems to be pretty high up on the ‘nth’ degree. His Potential Value = his Intelligence X that Dynamic is manifest here.

      Whatever PV I have has found an outlet here and that’s very much due to Marty’s initiative.

      The rumor is though, that I’m ‘Kingpin East’. I sure wish I was as scary as Kingpin. Come on OSA, spy on my house. Talk to my friends and relatives no matter how far removed and obscure. Tell them I’m a poohead. It’s not something they’d disagree with, unless of course they don’t wanna come to my cabin and go fishing ever, ever again!!!

      p.s. I’m With You, I’m with you. You can come fishing anytime.

  13. It all boils down to “What would LRH tell us to do?” That’s what is most important.

    • PS,
      With all due respect, check out Thoughtful’s remarks on this from the Eva Part II thread. LRH would rather we observed for ouselves and with our own Code of Honor in, and our own good sense and understanding of the principles of life, we agree to, as covered in the basics of the Axioms, Factors and such, we tell ourselves what to do, and DO IT. That’s the aim here.

      I do understand you’re comment though and for me, in all that I’ve viewed and done, if I had one being I trusted to guide me that I would pick, it would be LRH. He’s never let me down with anything he’s put forth that is Scientology.

      In fact, thanks to that being, I can stand on my own two thetan feet and approach my own Code of Honor in real life.

    • No.

      It all boils down to “What would I tell myself to do?”.

      That’s the Code of Honor.

      Michael A. Hobson

    • Hi PS,
      I have never liked the line “what would LRH do? Or what would he tell us to do?” It seems to me that we should duplicate the tech and do what each one of us thinks is right. The only one who can answer that question anyways is YOU. So why not just do what you think is right?
      ARC,
      Alex

  14. Marty,

    You are, as usual, right on the money when you stress community.

    It is a complete travesty that the one group with tech at their disposal to build a real community, one based on true care for man (as in a new civilization) has become a corrupt and elitist fascism, one that LRH would have detested. As you know he hated any concept of “the very best people”, he considered that idea simply suppression by another name.

    In following the emotions and responses you have evoked, I feel truly excited and revitalized that we finally have within our grasp a real opportunity to help each other build communities that will assist us all to lead lives of true freedom and tolerance. It is the thing we have all dreamed of down through the ages, in fact I would argue it is the true end that Scientology was meant to help achieve.

    And I find it encouraging in the extreme that at the exact moment we are fighting absurd suppression (Miscavology) we also have within our grasp the opportunity to turn motion to advantage and achieve the dream we all spent so many years working to achieve.

    Your idea is masterful, we help each other build small communities of independent Scientologists which show those still toiling under Miscavige that a life true to their original goals is still available to them. As a result, these communities grow in size and number and their voice grows along with them.

    It is possible that these new communities of independent Scientologists will eventually absorb what we now think of as Miscavology. But if that doesn’t quite happen, who cares because it will still have been wins all the way and wins were always the goal. But I think it will happen, as certain as night follows day.

    • Concerned Citizen

      I would like to add, if I may. The job is being done by many. I had qualms about reading your blog, because I always shruddered at the idea of my religion being charachetrized as a cult, but once I read it, I understood where you are comming from. I love the articles all of you write, I love the sheer sincerity and though there might be some small tid bits where I think diferently. I have LOTS of ARC for you courageous beings writing these articles. All authors, of Scientologycult. com and leaving Scientology.com

      I know I have been a bit defensive. I really resent any effort to generalize (All of scientology or all of Scientologist on lines, you get the idea) and I’m particualrly watchful of these; secially because if we stick to truth, we’ll be pretty much untouchable. And we do, more and more duped Scientologist will recognize truth. Scientlogist are particularly capable of that. But I digress. I wanted to say thank you for sticking out your neck, and thank you for being one that can’t be bought off. I love your insghts, as well as every other contriubutor. If I take you to task on a little specific. I’m looking out for our interest and in no way trying to diminish what you do. I admire all of you and this breakthrough you speak of is as much your doing (all of you,) as it is Marty’s

      I have a little file where I write my thoughts about this experience and inspirational things I come across, here are some words that come to mind when I think of you, my new third dynamic and family- YES MY FAMILY.

      It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in change there is power.

      Alan Cohen

      Moral cowardice that keeps us from speaking our minds is as dangerous to this country as irresponsible talk. The right way is not always the popular and easy way. Standing for right when it is unpopular is a true test of moral character.
      Margaret Chase Smith

      Whoever said anybody has a right to give up?
      Marian Wright Edelman

  15. I have spoken out directly to local CoS officials against the flagrant squirreling, human rights abuses and off-purpose and policy actions of DM and his robotic regime. I spent 2 hours telling the local EO all of my wins applying LRH tech, and then pointed out that I could no longer buy a book WRITTEN by LRH in the bookstore.

    They published my declare the next day (published with no names, all ” T/post titles” (“T” indicating that they were all temporarily posted). The confront of evil is completely out the bottom in the local orgs, DM’s ‘glowing PR’ gets in the way of any rational ability to LOOK.

    As for community, yes. It has been sorely lacking. ESMB was a stab in that direction, trying to get the itsa line in, and let healing begin.
    And it helped a lot, and continues to do so today, despite the ‘noise overlay’.
    If you read any of the earlier material, there were some astounding revelations and heart-breaking stories…..which galvanized my resolve to put period to the DM regime.

    I have made tons of new friends in the anonymous community as well. Most of these young people are decent, idealistic kids.

    The thing now is making sure that it doesn’t end badly for any more than absolutely necessary.

  16. My comment on what LRH would ask us to do is about what we are all talking about, at least I hope.

    We are in this situation because we did not apply KSW and we did not listen to LRH when we should have. Now we are on the outside lookng in.

    I am just attempting to put Source more here instead of letting this all end up in “mere fault-finding and natter”. Don’t lose sight of the fact that we are all in this, I hope, to get Scn back on the rails ala LRH and only LRH.

    LRH has already given us the path. All we have to do is walk it, and do whatever we have to do to preserve it.

    • PS,
      Speaking for myself, that’s exactly what I’m in this for. Mere fault finding and natter, yuck.

      Source put there is welcome. Thanks!

    • PS wrote: “We are in this situation because we did not apply KSW and we did not listen to LRH when we should have. Now we are on the outside lookng in. ”

      This is true. And there are reasons for that. Every one of us is “powerless” , individually, to do anything about it. Also, we have given much , in terms of time and energy, to want anything else for the church than its well being. Its philosophical goals were and are our goals. Even Mary and Mike and some others were driven out without being able to do anyhting while inside. The old GO was dumped. The individual needs a community of support.

      As the independent community grows through numbers and networks something surely will happen. There is strength in numbers. And short of something legal happening (which guarantees very little anyway that is actually needed and wanted from our viewpoint) the numbers game may be the truest and most certain route to change. It might take time, but with the internet the speed of particle flow has been advanced and that determines power. Those ideas of LRH’s about community from the 50’s I think should be given more weight along these lines of creating a different reality. Repeating LRH’s ideas about community and freedoms need to be the main themes to help shift the reality of what an ideal scene really should contain. It must become more than just referred to as the early witings or early history to being the Goal. Programs towards that end would follow. Once the group is right, the outreach into society can once again happen whereas its now falling on deaf ears.

    • PS says “We are in this situation because we did not apply KSW and we did not listen to LRH when we should have. Now we are on the outside lookng in.”

      I don’t know what “we” are you are referring to here, but it’s no “we” I am a part of.

      A great many good, true and faithful scientologists are outside of the C of $ now, specifically *because they tried to apply KSW* when the sheeple around them “supported, upheld and forwarded Command Intention” – that is, whatever crazed non-sense Dictator Miscavige was pushing that week.

      I find it difficult to believe you are not aware of that fact, PS.

      • Mike, That PS sure sounds like a sheeple to me. To exist as an actual person, one has to have a viewpoint. To have a viewpoint, he simply needs to open his eyes and LOOK. If he did that, he wouldn’t need to ask silly questions from the weakest valence that wouldn’t hurt a fly… and question motives when the answers are right in front of his hairy grass-eating sheep face.

        Plus he would know better than to say things like, “I am just attempting to put Source more here” when in fact, he’s trying to do the exact opposite. Reference: Science of Survival.

    • Hi PS, I’m sorry to say but your comment sounds a bit off. As I see it there are a lot of people here putting in order in a very chaotic situation. I don’t see what ” source” you are trying to put in. It sounded a bit counter productive to me. Marty is doing a great job as well as many contributers here. I feel that we are making great progress and absolutes are unobtainable.
      🙂
      Alex

  17. “The truth of the matter is it’s better to die – to die horribly, over a
    long period of time – in the long run, than to traffic in any way with
    compromises which are against honor. Now, that’s a funny thing. But it’s
    better to die than do it. And the only times you’ve ever gotten into trouble
    anywhere along the line is because you compromised.” – LRH

  18. Thanks for all you are doing here. It is wonderful and revitilizing. I feel the community is forming, growing in size, reality, purpose and strength every day.

  19. Dear Marty, this blog has truly contributed to a wonderful and truthful march forward. I feel it in the universe, my own as well as others. Thank you for doing this. Supression can be so subtle and when lifted is so monumental. Life is fun and funny again. Since reading this blog I have noticed such a change in myself and how I continue to expand.

    I continue to thank you for your service.

  20. That was a beautiful post Marty, very scholarly as well, but ya gotta stop recommending all these theta books. Christ my book shelves can’t take the strain!

    Any way I love ya man and as always I think you are doing a superb job of making an actual Scientology community a reality.

  21. Agreed Thoughtful. I myself have never been the same person since my Comm Ev for insisting on LRH tech. The certainty gained was that the only safe harbor for me was in keeping my own council.

    I stick mainly to LRH quotes but another gem is from Emerson’s “Self Reliance” essay, which is in the same vein as the code of honor in my opinion:

    “So use all that is called Fortune. Most men gamble with her, and gain all, and
    lose all, as her wheel rolls. But do thou leave as unlawful these winnings, and
    deal with Cause and Effect, the chancellors of God. In the Will work and acquire,
    and thou hast chained the wheel of Chance, and shalt sit hereafter out of fear from
    her rotations. A political victory, a rise of rents, the recovery of your sick, or
    the return of your absent friend, or some other favorable event, raises your spirits,
    and you think good days are preparing for you.

    Do not believe it.

    Nothing can bring
    you peace but yourself.

    Nothing can bring you peace but the triumph of principles.”

    • One of the things I think is continually beautiful when you talk to a real Scientologist, is with them, Scientology actually means “knowing how to know.” And so they can bring forth these incredible quotes full of insight such as Emerson. You can actually understand and appreciate all Emerson was intending to say. Whereas with a Miscavologist, they know nothing except how to quote LRH quotes they don’t understand or apply. That is a beautiful quote StarsAwait.

  22. Thanks Marty,
    That was spot on. I think the ARC triangle is at work here! I always wished that the COS would have created something similar to what you are doing. I wanted to have a group of intelligent and caring people where we could talk about anything and have sensible rules and stand out because of our superior tech. Thanks again for helping to create that now. With so many cool thetans at work and no suppression on the lines, just think what we can mock up!!
    ML,
    Alex

  23. Thanks Thoughtful

Leave a Reply

