Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury,pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen

31 responses to “Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

  1. Wonderful Marty.

    One of my favorite prayers.

    The last line, to me, points the way … it is the dying of the ego, that brings us to realize/recognize and become one with that which IS eternal life … eternity/dharmakaya/the 8th dynamic, the oneness that we all are.

    Peace

  2. crashing upwards

    I have had that prayer in my wallet for years. I often read it. Its great. The last sentence about dying I also interpret as in the ego or false self dying.
    I have for a long time felt that through that process and through gaining humility and acknowledgement of a higher power than oneself that you align with the correct spiritual order of progression. And it is exactly here that I felt Scientology in some respects diverged and lost the way . The drive to get super power, super this and super that, become like a god, etc. The focus on the first dynamic. It all seemed wrong and ego-centric.
    Pride and ego also shaped scientology’s 3rd dynamic policy and responses and its been at the root of our never having been able to meld into society. And truth be told it was rooted in LRH. He might have philosophically embraced St. Francis’s prayer but it would have stopped there. The altruistic philosophy of Scientology never makes it into practice within its own organization. Some might argue that the work for too serious for “mamby-pamby” approaches. But I feel certain that a kindler, gentler organization would have far outreached the existing one in transforming the field of mental health and helping mankind.

    • I view the last line perhaps a bit differently. I think of it as the goal of the Buddha – escaping the never ending cycle of life and death by realizing everlasting spirit. And I suppose that can be attained by really living the virtues that precede it. I don’t see the third dynamic policy as rooted in ego over 8th dynamic. I see the rough spots in policy as responses to an establishment intent on cutting LRH down to size. Whether it was an overreaction and calls for the practitioner to do the same unto others is in the eye of the beholder. In either event, I’m glad we all see something rejuvenating of the spirit in Saint Francis’ words.

    • What makes buddhism non-theistic is that the buddha said we are all buddhas. There isn’t a higher power outside of ourselves — according to buddhism.

      What makes buddhism so difficult as a practice is — the natural tendency we all have to dualism.

      Me and the world outside of me.

      From that egocentric me — the world is a projection of what how we are, with our delusions and ignorance (ie. our reactive minds). (we see others as friends or foe depending on our view etc)

      What makes it difficult for scientology to achieve its aims is precisely because we all start from a first dynamic ground. Regardless who we are.

      What scientology does so well is help to take a fractured or incomplete ego and make it whole. We now can function well in society. We now can put down drugs, or other addictions, accomplish plans and projects etc.

      NOW — here’s the rub. Unless we start to SEE with the help of our scn leaders that — OK — your “ego” is whole — now start to dismantle it … you become a screaming celeb on a coach!!

      Dismantling ego doesn’t mean you no longer have a personality — it means you are no longer INVESTED in your position, your money, your title, your ideas and opinions.

      You are now — empty — and thus open to the limitless possibilities of how our world will evolve.

      Without the years of scn training, auditing and staff work my path as a buddhist would never have evolved as “rapidly” as it has and with the depth I might have in understanding the teachings.

      WH

      • martyrathbun09

        Wow. Deep. Thanks.

      • The Golden Rule Expanded:

        See in others what you want to be seen in you.
        Think of others in a way you wish others to think of you.
        Be with another as you would want that person to be towards you.
        Love another as you wish to be loved.
        Say statements about others the things you would have said about you.
        Think, say, do or whatever concept fits the moment, only what you would have returned in same to you (or someone or something you loved and honored if you don’t like yourself)

        If one is experiencing conflict or any harmonic of it, within or without, it is because you have first made the decision for the condition and then see it in others; but it came from a decision one makes (unconsciously usually).

        One may quickly ask oneself, “What I am about to consider about, say or do to this person (or group of persons, or a country, etc), would I want this same thing thought, said or done to or about me (or my group – friends, brothers, family – or my country, etc.)
        If the answer is a resounding NO (usually is), then why continue along that line?

        Imagine DM and those who support him asking this of him/themselves? Or anyone in a position of governance and power?

        The Buddhists have the concept (Windhorse – correct me if need be) the outer world we see is merely a mirror which reflects back to us our own inner world. It’s an outward picture of an inner state of mind. As within, so without.

        What a different place and instantaneous change might take place if a fraction of the above were considered and not still denied.

    • CU, Scientology is also gnostic meaning it also covers what are the considered mysteries of life.

      The OT levels are not designed to make others wrong. They are designed to increase a thetan’s native abilities.

      Such as the ability to operate from an exterior point of view. To be more empathic, intuitive and understanding of others.

      It has nothing to do with gaining “super powers” so that one can crush and overwhelm others!

    • crashingupward, you have articulated beautifully some of my own concerns and perspective.

      Certaintly St Francis was familiar with Jesus’ words:

      “Listen carefully: Unless a grain of wheat is buried in the ground, dead to the world, it is never any more than a grain of wheat. But if it is buried, it sprouts and reproduces itself many times over. In the same way, anyone who holds on to life just as it is destroys that life. But if you let it go, reckless in your love, you’ll have it forever, real and eternal. ”

      (John 12:24-25 – transliterated in “The Message”)

  3. LRH said the only right of an executive is to serve. Here is a beautiful quote from Hcopl “A model hat for an executive”:
    ‘Begin fair use quote’ “despite the trying nature of an executive post, it yet must be filled – and filled with understanding, intelligence, helpfullness, courage and compassion. When a lack of these enter upon an organization’s lines, the organization sickens and is gone – just as our wolrd at large is doing.” ‘end fair use quote.

    Understanding, intelligence, helpfullness, courage and compassion!

  4. St. Francis was inspired to his life of preaching the gospels, poverty and starting the Franciscan Order when he heard a sermon based on Matthew 10:9, in which Christ tells his followers they should go forth and proclaim that the Kingdom of Heaven was upon them, that they should take no money with them, nor even a walking stick or shoes for the road.

    Much like the inscription in Creation of Human Ability, which was quoting form the Book of Luke:

    Go your ways: behold, I send you forth
    as lambs among wolves.

    Carry neither purse, nor scrip, nor shoes:
    and salute no man by the way.

    And into whatsoever house ye enter, first say,
    Peace be to this house.

    And if the son of peace be there, your peace shall rest upon it:
    if not, it shall turn to you again.

    And in the same house remain, eating and drinking
    such things as they give:
    for the laborer is worthy of his hire.
    Go not from house to house.

    And into whatsoever city ye enter, and they receive you,
    eat such things as are set before you:

    And heal the sick that are therein, and say unto them
    The kingdom of God is come nigh unto you.

    Blessed are the eyes which see the things that ye see:

    For I tell you, that many prophets and kings have desired to
    see those things which ye see,
    and have not seen them;
    and to hear those things which ye hear,
    and have not heard them.

    This is where the rubber meets the road. And while Francis did gain the acceptance of the Pope (Innocent the III), the good will generated by the Franciscans was later twisted, as the Order, fractured over the subject of renunciation of material wealth, and reliance upon the pope for sustenance, became a tool of the Inquisition.
    Take it as a lesson in personal integrity, and what can happen when it is lost.

  5. Concerned Citizen

    I like Francis and his phylosophy has taught me a thing or two. I think one of the basic truths is that much of the wisdomof the world has been around for centuries and if one just looks, then it is there t0 be found.

    “There are countless ways of attaining greatness, but any road to reaching one’s maximum potential must be built on a bedrock of respect for the individual, a commitment to excellence, and a rejection of mediocrity.”

    Buck Rodgers.

    • From Concerned Citizen: “I think one of the basic truths is that much of the wisdom of the world has been around for centuries and if one just looks, then it is there to be found.” Do you know how workable and powerful the tech of Scientology is when you apply it as an ASSIST toward realizing that wisdom of the world? The wisdom is out there – and it is very poetically and artfully communicated in so many ways. And yet, it is not so easy to simply intellectually grasp it and then translated that into living; at least not for a lot of folks. I don’t deny some are capable of doing so. I admit I am not one of those who could do it without a serious ASSIST. And I know a lot of others who appreciate that same kind of ASSIST.

      • Concerned Citizen

        Absolutely, I myself couldn’t possibly discern it or apply it anywhere near to the level at which I do, if it weren’t for Scientology. I have helped several people with Scientology who said they understood their religion and life so much more due to Scientology. To me there is nothing more powerful, helpful and simple than Scientology. But I did carefully study what LRH studied. I understand the man a heck of a lot better after doing just that. That is why I have zero tolerance toward any religious bigotry. And why I seek to understand all viewpoints without losing mine. To me Scientology is the light or lens that allows me to finally see where everything else fits. In an earlier post I said:
        To this I will just add, that thanks to Scientology and it’s correct application, I have regained myself, I understand why I am the way I am, why I did things I did not like to do, who I am, and what my purpose in life is, I understand my relationship to the world, my place in the scheme of things, and I understand human kind enough, that I feel no hate for anyone, really. I may feel anger, but never hate. I have love for all life and knowledge. That I gained through Scientology.

      • martyrathbun09

        That is just plain wonderful.

      • Marty wrote: “Do you know how workable and powerful the tech of Scientology is when you apply it as an ASSIST toward realizing that wisdom of the world?”

        YES! Precisely why the heartbreak seeing current egregious additives of power zealots pawned off. The orgs are like the Borg.

        Concerned Citizen, roger and ditto that –> “To me there is nothing more powerful, helpful and simple than Scientology. But I did carefully study what LRH studied. I understand the man a heck of a lot better after doing just that. That is why I have zero tolerance toward any religious bigotry. And why I seek to understand all viewpoints without losing mine. To me Scientology is the light or lens that allows me to finally see where everything else fits.”

  6. Letting go of my participation in the C of S, but not the philosophy of LRH, has widened my appreciation and tolerance of other religions. Each has their applicable truths. Thank you for posting this prayer, Marty. It’s beautiful!

  7. To me, this is where it is at. Posts that show a divergent set of opinions and viewpoints, and open discussions. In this example it is a Christian prayer.

    I can’t say how the Church of Scn went so far off the rails. You can imagine how ‘on-purpose’ Scientologists might mock this prayer, because it is ‘not LRH’. Maybe I am being too harsh. I don’t think so.

    And thanks to Marty for providing an open and truthful forum.

  8. Dear Marty,
    This is one of my favorite Scientology references (but I don’t know where it came from) — it applies so well to this beautiful post:
    “Scientology helps people help one another. An activity, a family or a government which does not take into account the spiritual part of life cannot but fail. Loud words and large weapons have never solved a problem wholly nor made a nation great. The poor, the stupid, the afraid alike need help.
    “The way of a strong man is to help his less fortunate fellows. The essence of all spiritual life is to assist those too weak to help themselves. Scientology helps people to help one another. This is the message of all prophets in all ages: Help one another. It is a formula for life that cannot fail. It is the message of Scientology.” LRH

  9. I’m impressed with many of the incredible posts on this topic!

    There is a lot of evidence here of knowing how to know, which to me is what Scientology is all about.

  10. I have always loved that prayer. It speaks to the basic heart of most human beings.

    Growing up speaking different languages to my parents and in a foreign country helped me see truth about people and helped really hear what someone is saying because words themselves are never the thing (thought, truth, concept, communication).

    Speaking different languages can say the same thing.

    That said, one thing I loved about SCN when I first found it was that it did not purport to be a religion, i.e. it was something to be used, not ‘believed in.’

    I’ll never forget the chill of ominous things to come when I first saw goose-stepping posturing, complete with calling the Tech ‘scriptures’. I not-ised the first glimpses of what has become a rabid fervor and zealotry, complete with Inquisition, witch burnings and conquest of papal states.

    This is a definite divergence of basic operating procedure.

    A spiritual activity is not necessarily a religion. The basic etymological root of the word religion means “a binding up of beliefs.” In the Tech of Scientology, telling another what to believe is eval, a top no-no. The Tech is not beliefs, they are processes to DO. They were piloted by LRH with repeatable, observable results…and embraced by many who obtain the same.

    Truth is truth. The Tech is the Tech. It isn’t something to be believed, it is something to use.

    The Tech works for me. It leads to the Truth. Ironically (for zealots) SCN Tech assists lead to the same universal Truth(s) couched in many religions, in art, in Nature. The words are different. The concept is the same.

    My freely communicating with all religions and appreciating the beauty of the many roads and solutions people find also verifies the workability of what I’ve found I can apply without a limiting constraint of “beliefs”. THAT was the Scientology I signed up for.

  11. A smile is a Truth:) There is Tech and other Techs to getting a smile, from eating ice cream cones to a spa treatment to SCN Tech — some techs makes 🙂 (truth) last longer than others.

  12. I forget the date of this HCOPL:

    The following is laid down as policy:

    There is so much good in the worst of us
    And so much bad in the best of us
    That it ill behooves any of us
    To talk about the rest of us

    LRH

    It is so sad that OSAbots and others lack the ability to apply this one.

  13. Remember this one? (By Mike Heron of the Incredible String Band)

    May the long time sun shine upon you
    All love surround you
    And the pure light within you
    Guide you all the way on

    As good a metta prayer as I’ve ever seen. And McChurch could do with a little metta (loving-kindness).

  14. I love you Marty.

    I can’t remember where LRH said it best, in his brillient simplicity, but I recall it, in his voice, verbatim;

    “…the greatest Overt there is, is making others guilty of thier overts.”

Leave a Reply

