Thanksgiving

Thanks to all the Independents, announced and yet to be announced.  The following from Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet sums up for Mosey and I how we feel about you all:

Then said the rich man, Speak to us of Giving.

And he answered:

You give but little when you give of your possessions.

It is when you give of yourself that you truly give.

For what are your possessions but things you keep and guard for fear you may need them tomorrow?

And tomorrow, what shall tomorrow bring to the overprudent dog burying bones in the trackless sand as he follows the pilgrims to the holy city?

And what is fear of need but need itself?

Is not dread of thirst when your well is full, the thirst that is unquenchable?

There are those who give little of the much which they have — and they give it for recognition and their hidden desire makes their gifts unwholesome.

And there are those who have little and give it all.

These are the believers in life and the bounty of life, and their coffer is never empty.

There are those who give with joy, and that joy is their reward.

There are those who give with pain, and that pain is their baptism.

And there are those who give and know not pain in giving, nor do they seek joy, nor give with mindfulness of virtue; They give as in yonder valley the myrtle breathes its fragrance into space.

Through the hands of such as these God speaks, and from behind their eyes He smiles upon the earth.



38 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. You are the right person at the right time. May you receive the reward of joy that you deserve.

    Our family wishes your family a Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. There are many things to be thankful for. One of those are good friends like Marty & Mosey, and all the Independents!

    Please have a very Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  3. Beautifully written. Gave me goosebumps reading it.
    Yes thank you to Marty, Mosey and everyone here for being there with your ability to confront and speak freely for what you believe, for being stable anchor points in my universe from which to stand strong and have a sane point of view and, of course, for being wonderful friends.
    I am richer in friends just in the past couple of months than I have been in years and years.
    Shannon

  4. Thank you for the universal and timeless wisdom in these wonderful verses by the great poet Kahlil Gibran. It’s an awesome poem … particularly relevant these days when greed is a pervasive sickness that undermines people’s true wealth!

    I was counting my blessings, thinking of you, Marty and Mosey. I’m moved to tears, joyful tears, at the happiness and liberation I’ve experienced since connecting up.

    Everyone here on the road of Love, Truth and Life … you have my dearest, most fervent best wishes this Thanksgiving…and beyond.

    It’s an honor and privilege to read your stories, to post with everyone here. This is one of my happiest Thanksgivings in a long time.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    The best is yet to be.

    EVERY BLESSING TO YOU AND YOURS!!

  5. Second that, Sinar. Hope is in the air this Thanksgiving.
    Dan and Mariette

  6. I am thankful for the many good friends who have managed to escape the Church of Scientology and start a new life, and the growing numbers who are finding the courage to speak out against abuse. Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

  7. Happy Thanksgiving Mosey & Marty!

    Thank you for beautiful poem 🙂

  8. Happy Thanksgiving to all the Independent Scientologists and all the good people of the world.

    Our special thanks and love to Marty and Mosey.

    I am sure by Christmas 2009 we will have even a bigger celebration for our Independent group as more people will join us! : )

  9. Raffaella Todaro

    Here is something by the latin poet Vergil : ““Felix, qui potuit rerum cognoscere causas” (“Fortunate who was able to know the causes of things ”).

    Thank YOU.

  10. We live in interesting times.

    It is through the courage and willingness to change hearts and minds that everyone who has walked this path we all share in common, currently or in the past, can and should now be Thankful they got through it all, ending up in whatever condition or state of mind they have.

    It will all work out…indeed it already has…there’s just some catching up to do by those with different time tables.

    Happy Thanksgiving to one and all.

  11. “And there are those who have little and give it all. These are the believers in life and the bounty of life, and their coffer is never empty. Through the hands of such as these God speaks, and from behind their eyes He smiles upon the earth.”

    I keep this for me. Is a gift this tone 40 tr2

    Give it all for all the ones who love me and the ones who hate me. Thats the way I intent to live each day since decades ago.

    My two sweet M&M´s…(Mosey and Marty):

    With this gift you make my hollyday a very happy one.

    Please, keep on shining over us.

    Our lifes are much better because of you.

    I wish also the best for all the independents, especially the fist ones and people like Fishdady that give me the value to stand up and take responsability.

    It´s a big gift.

    I appreciate it.

    Do very well

    Roberto; your MexicanAmigo…

  12. He’d have made a hell of an IAS reg, that Khalil … Happy Turkey Day.

  13. Marty & Mosey and to all of your here on this blog: I join you in celebrating our connections and the hope that carries us into the future. I am immeasurably thankful to have found Marty’s blog and all of who here.

    May we each, in our own way continue, to be a beacon of all-pervading light whose radiance dispels the obscuring clouds of ignorance, revealing the wisdom and clarity of our awakened nature.

    WH

  14. Thought provoking

    To all those who have set upon this pilgrimage of bringing back Ron’s legacy in its purity, I am grateful. Your integrity and courage has given others, like myself, the ability to look at the truth…as difficult and unbelievable as it has been. Thank you, Marty et al, for being there…and communicating.

    Already the lives of many have changed, some have even flourished, others will with time.

    A happy Thanksgiving to all with the eradication of DM’s supression not long on the horizon and the True Scientology flourishing, prospering and widely acknowleded by Scientologists around the world.

  15. A beautiful and apt message. Thanks to you Marty and all truth-seekers working so hard for us. In the spirit of this day I hope you liked my little Thanksgiving message in your mailbox!

  16. I know from the flood of recent emails and good wishes that my family and I have a great many wonderful friends all over the world, which in
    itself is more and enough to give thanks for.

    So I hope that all those friends understand, on this day of days, as I take the time to give special thanks to those without whose support,
    my life, and that of my family, would have become just be one continuous train wreck. You see, the article AN INDEPENDENT FAMILY tells only a small part of the story.

    MARTY & MOSEY: When my family and I fell through the spiritual trapdoor and went into freefall you were there to make certain we landed on our feet. We came out of your care in better shape than ever. “Angels” doesn’t even come close to describing you guys.

    CHRISTIE: You befriended us and helped me in a hundred different ways at a time when most of our supposed friends deserted us or were too busy stabbing. Without your unselfish help I’d be stranded somewhere in Texas right now. You have our undying love, affection and appreciation.

    MIKE: As I have said before, the dignity with which you continue to deal with people and life in the face of untold provocation astounds me.
    You have been both a rock and a calming influence in what would have been an
    unbearble time had it not been for you. You have been a true friend.

    People reading might wonder if I’m overstating it. When you know the full and true facts you will think I’m underplaying it.

    My friends, to you we tender our heartfelt thanks.

    THE JAMES GANG

  17. Happy Thanksgiving, Marty and everyone!

    I hope this time next year we will be able to be thankful that David Miscavige is in prison.

  18. Being a kiwi living in australia, I haven’t quite got the “Thanks giving” meaning, but I understand the intention being put forth. I would like to add something. When I was a boy I got a book, the purpose was to get family, friends to give me a slice of admiration or words of wisedom to live by. One quote that forever I can wear on my heart came from my mother, short and sweet, yet emblazened with great love and wisedom…
    “Love all, trust few and paddle your own canoe. Love Mum”.
    From my heart to yours, the most wonderful people I could choose to share space on a blog with. Have a wonderful Thanks Giving!

  19. Hi Marty,

    This is beautiful. Thank you VERY much for sharing it with us.

    After reading the passage and the touching sentiments that followed, I went out on my front porch with a good cup of coffee, watched the autumn leaves flutter to the ground and pondered what I just read.

    I thought I had nothing to add to all that has been said over these past few months but somewhere between basting the turkey and peeling potatoes, I decided that I actually do have something to add…my name.

    My name is Kathy Jo Braceland. I’m Cl IV, OT VIII.

    (Jim Logan: This one’s for you, because Jo really is my {middle} name: “My name is Jo and I AM CANADIAN!”)

    One of the perks of being Canadian but living in the states is, I get two Thanksgivings. This is by far, the best Thanksgiving I’ve ever had. And it started with this wonderful post by you Marty. Thank you again!

  20. Happy Thanksgiving Marty & Mosey;

    You two are lighting the “FREEDOM” beacon and it is pointing much needed light on this twisted & tarnished COS world wide.

    I am fascinated with your pinpoint accuracy when you reveal your gradients of truth in this blog . I am so thankful I Googled the name Marty Rathbun in June 2009.

    At first I was puzzled with your blog’s name; “Moving On Up a Little Higher”.

    I am here to tell all I am achieving an EP as my universe moves on up a little higher each day.

    Now, I get it!!!

    Thanks Mary & Mosey for shinning your beacon of truth.

    Love to all.

    Jack Airey (AKA: Underground for Now)
    No longer Underground for Now. From this point on I am Tampa Bay Jack

    One big independent SOB.

  21. Marty and Mosey, it has been Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride for me these past four months. Thank you for your friendship. Colwell and I look forward to visiting you both in the near future.

  22. On Marty’s front page there is a link to a lawsuit filed against DM. The link is broken but one can look around on the target site and find it.
    Here is the URL for the pdf document –
    http://www.scientology-cult.com/images/stories/files/complaint-filed112509.pdf

    Today’s posting of the Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet is an insightful selection for the holiday. That said, I somehow find the lawsuit against DM something to be truly thankful for. I guess it is closer to my current tone level.

    Change is happening!

  23. I’m traveling and just managed to find time to check in here. Happy Thanksgiving to all. I’m thankful for this place to share ideas, sanity and theta. What’s finer than that? Thank you Marty and Mosey.

  24. Dear Marty,

    You provide a safe space here and make everyone welcome and comfortable. Feels like family – feels like home.

    Thank you, Andy

  25. To all my dear friends on this blog, to those of you who have lended me your support when I most needed it, and to those of you who have had the courage to help charter the road of Independence, (you all know who you are) – Thank you and you have all of my love.

    Marty and Mosey – I don’t think a person could have a better couple of friends than you two. What you have done and continue to do for all of us, proves it everyday.

  26. Thank you all for being here, and allowing me to share the joy of truth, freedom and self-determinism. True confession time: I haven’t wept for joy as much as I have this year ever.
    Really, the emotions can be quite overwhelming at times, reading the stories and putting faces to names and places. But that is the ‘magic’ of communication. Thanks Marty, Mosey and everyone here. This is all the richness I need.
    For friends like you all, I am truly grateful.

  27. Kathy;

    Welcome to the “INDY” group. I’m willing to bet your Thanksgiving dinner tasted real good. Maybe the best ever.

  28. Thank you. Beautiful sentiment for a day of giving thanks and, if you will, the consolidating of gains.

  29. I give thanks for having found so many courageous friends and for finding out the truth finally!!
    I thank you Marty for your courage and persistance and for the leadership you provide.
    ML,
    Alex

  30. Concerned Citizen

    I thought a lot about this group yesterday, but did not have a way to comment till now. I too am grateful, beyond words for this entire group, these blogs and sites represent.

    I’m a big believer of never regretting yesterday and instead making my tomorrow. I thought about that tomorrow long and hard. I see a bright future where suppression is vanquished and true Scientology can and does prosper.

    So I thought of an LRH Reference that I love.
    “When You Need Reassurance”
    “When you hear people growling, when the lines are all awry, when the auditor has flubbed and the world of Scientology looks black, just remember in the dozens of years of sometimes despairing work and heartbreaking setbacks, the dream has yet come true…
    In Scientology just remember this when all looks dark,

    IT WILL ALL COME OUT ALRIGHT”. LRH

    So I’m thankful for that future and I know things will come out alright for everyone.

  31. I’m thankful that despite no ties to Scientology by family or friends, I began reading about it a few years back and then reading the tech myself after Anonymous began their campaign because I’ve learned never want to jump to conclusions about anyone or anything because someone else tells me to.

    Fast-forward to “The Truth Rundown”, finding this blog and Geir’s site and then actually communicating with a few people myself. Instead of automatic distrust and fear that I might be up to no good, I was greeted with friendliness and help. Now I’m trying to do as much as I can on my own and have had some success in dealing with chronic illness and life issues that I never had before reading the tech, specifically “Self Analysis”, which was recommended by one of you.

    I give thanks to you, Marty, for coming out and offering help instead of hate. I don’t think many people would have taken the route you have. I also thank everyone else who has shared the tech with me and others here and on other sites.

    I don’t want to be a part of DM’s machine, but I have had real gains because of LRH’s tech. And I also have hope now that someday, somehow, I might be able to get real training despite living where no Independents live. If so much can happen in the space of a couple of years, there’s no telling what will happen next. All I know is that there are people who want to teach me how to help myself, and that makes me enormously grateful.

Leave a Reply

