Ted Horner arises – hallelujah!

Ted Horner was one of my earliest opinion leaders in the SO.  My first SO job in January 78 was serving on one of the PAC renos missions that he operated. He seemed to be able to keep an even, easy going,  and friendly manner no matter how heavy the pressure got.  Though many can attest I wasn’t so successful, I tried to emulate Ted’s cool. Ted exuded that same calm throughout the wild eighties at Int/Gold.  He seems to have landed in an environment and created a life that meets his pleasant demeanor.  Here’s Ted’s story in his own words:

Ted sailing off Belize

Gosh, this narrative has been over a year in the making.

To start off, I have to credit Jeff Hawkins (Fishdaddy) for being my initial inspiration.  Don’t be fooled by his calm, soft-spoken style.  Hawk, you have the heart of a lion when you published your Counterfeit Dreams, long before most others even ventured to reveal their identities.

Hats off as well to Marty, for being a breath of fresh air among the toxic “natter boards” and for his coming clean.  So what if he attracts a bunch of yapping critics? His biggest asset is his capacity to grant beingness, an ability we can all work on a lot harder.

I hate like hell writing a first-person narrative, it seems so self-serving, but here goes: 

I stumbled onto Scientology in the summer of 1973 in Denver, Colorado, the target of a body-router from the Denver Mission.  Scientology was an attractive subject to a 20 year-old college dropout, looking to find his way in the world. 

Denver Mission was big.  An HQS Course operated in the unfinished basement of a storefront with over 100 enthusiastic students. The supervision was tough and unreasonable.  The 4 – 5 month comprehensive course on the basics of Scientology cost just $100. Academy Levels in those days were only a few hundred bucks.  A few years later, I paid $600 dollars for the Saint Hill Special Briefing Course, joining hundreds of others at ASHO.

Flash forward 35 years and it is obvious that something is very seriously wrong with the institution of Scientology, and not only the high prices.

My connection with organized Scientology ended after 20 years when I successfully managed to blow from the Int Base on July 4th 1993.  It was truly my Independence Day.

While I was a fugitive from OSA and its private investigators, I never really stopped applying the Scientology philosophy and technology.  I did so naturally, in whatever way it might better my life and those in my environment. I still do.

I have to credit those on Marty’s Blog for giving me clarity on the premise that even though the organized church has gone corrupt, this is entirely different from the actual technology and philosophy.  They helped me see that it is okay to practice Scientology, just, please, not the organized brand.

I’ve had plenty of the organized brand of Scientology to last me a lifetime, and maybe a few more.

I started on staff at Narconon when it was a GO social coordination project.  This brought me to LA and eventually the Sea Org, where I initially worked in mission operations setting up the Big Blue Complex. 

I was then recruited “over the rainbow” and was posted as an Assistant Cameraman.  My senior was an abrasive, loudmouth punky teenager, named David Miscavige; at least that’s how I saw him at the time.  I would never be very far from him over the next 15 years.

Doreen Smith Gillham turned over her hat to me as LRH Equipment I/C in 1978 and this evolved into the post of Film & Equipment I/C under the LRH Household Unit. Over the next 7 or 8 years I worked primarily as a photographer and equipment logistics person for LRH.  In those later years, he used photography as a pleasant diversion. It was something he could do when he was cooped up at those confidential locations.

At times, the Old Man would get very enthusiastic about his photography.  It was not unusual for me to receive half a dozen lengthy dispatches in a single traffic run which would send me combing LA and Hollywood on research and purchasing trips.

DM was never very far away.  By the early 80s, he was the final traffic filter from the base to LRH.  My traffic eventually went directly to DM then passed onto LRH.  

I have to say this; DM completely supported and backed up the work of my unit at that time. Previously, when I was forced to send my traffic via CMO Int or the Watch Messengers, there were inevitable slows and arbitrary rejects. He removed them. It was fast flow management and I moved into a high ethics condition and I WAS given protection.

Later, from my limited perspective, DM began to change.  He discovered the power of those infamous public events.  I was there from the beginning as producer and director until I left in 1993. What started out as a way to use television techniques to bring management’s message directly to staffs throughout the world, evolved into a big money propaganda machine. 

Add to that his obsession with Hollywood stardom, and he just ended up buying his own brand of BS and finds he can’t stop himself or the insanity.

At the end he began tearing up my unit, the one he had supported for so many years. It was ironic that it was here that the directives on establishing and protecting production lines was piloted under LRH direction.

People commonly ask, “Why didn’t you do something to stop it?” The changes were very slow, over many years, and more importantly, we were blinded by our own complicity. 

We are all responsible to some degree for DM and what the Church of Scientology had become.  Anyone who says otherwise, either wasn’t there, or hasn’t a shred of responsibility.

After abruptly leaving the Sea Org, I have been blessed to live a life better than perhaps I am entitled to.  I credit much of that to the man and his philosophy and technology, to my many comrades throughout the years, and even to that abrasive, loudmouth punky bastard.

I am not promising to join the ranks of “crusaders” but I will not pass up any reasonable opportunity to help set some things straight.

DM always had a unique capacity to bring out the best and the worst in all of us, so in the later case, if anyone has any complaints with me from those days, please contact me, and I’ll try to make it right for you.

That is also an invitation for any of my old friends, or anyone at all, to contact me directly at belizeted@yahoo.com.
Ted Horner
Belize, Central America

And in addition to all that, he loves dogs.

19 responses to “Ted Horner arises – hallelujah!

  1. Marty, your blog is the premier spot for announcing success stories.

    Spotlighting people like Ted who helped make Scientology a phenomenal adventure gives us all a more balanced picture of the successes that occurred as well as the degradation that is happening now.

    The people you have featured would be a credit to any organization. The fact that we share a common history in the church bodes well foir the eventual rebuilding of a new and better distribution system for the technology.

  2. Thanks Ted for speaking up! You are right,! We are all responsible for the current condition of the CoS.
    You are definitely a valuable terminal on getting Ethics-in on DM .
    You mentioned:
    “I am not promising to join the ranks of “crusaders” but I will not pass up any reasonable opportunity to help set some things straight.”
    We are counting on your full support for bringing DM down and getting Ethics in on the CoS so LRH Tech and Admin can fully go in.

    Flourish & Prosper!

  3. Thanks Ted, for sharing your story and making yourself known. Whatever you do to set things straight – will be tremendously helpful. 🙂

  4. Hey. Ted,
    Well, you’ve just missed my withhold here. I still have your excellent narrative of your Scn experience. People will enjoy reading it, guaranteed.

    For those who haven’t had the pleasure of knowing him, I can thoroughly second Marty’s accurate assessment of Ted’s easy going manner.
    He was an island of sanity at what was at time perhaps the craziest place on earth.

  5. Ted,

    Been a long time since I saw you! Shared many experiences and evolutions with you – good and bad.

    Wondered about what occurred with you and now I totally understand. I am really glad to hear you’re living the better life!

  6. Ted, thanks for the kind words and good to see your story, part of it at least, on Marty’s blog. Hopefully you’ll find a way to make your full story known – it’s an epic one. Great to see you looking so laid back these days!

  7. Mr. Horner, yes I know you told me not to call you that anymore but it is a sign of respect that you deserve. You were always level headed and fair and considerate of staff.

    Thank you for pointing out that we all share in the responsibility of what has become. Positive change starts right at that point.

    My best to your and yours.

    ml,

  8. Hey Ted! Great to hear of you and from you after so many years! Thanks so much for your story and the pics. You are looking well.

  9. Hi Ted! Long time since I last say you too. You look great and look like you are enjoying life.

    I can back up and affirm your story in the 1980s and I must say there was never a time that you didn’t help me out when needed Ted. I always appreciated the great job that you did in helping us when we set up all the Production Lines for Audio and Cine for example. You came to the rescue many times.

    Looking forward to hearing more from you and your new life.

  10. Ted,
    Good to see you arise. For the St Pete Times articles I was looking through my wedding photos and there you are as the minister.

    You are right on the complicity of many. Some more than others. Long years of study of Scientology since I was declared at Gold, have made it abundantly clear, man IS good and when he’s bad he will restrain himself. For those beings of enormous capability, that restraint lessens the world that much more.

    When those of us who have been through what we’ve been through honestly get through, this time with experience, it’s the real deal. So, I’m happy to see you taking steps to come back to what it is really all about.

  11. Ted – nice to see your smiling face, glad to hear you’re doing well! I did costumes in the 80’s at Gold, just down the walkway from F&E. Your points about DM and the C of S are well taken. It would be nice to put the blame all “over there” but gruesomely enough, we all own some part, large or small of what has happened. Here’s to the future!

  12. It’s very disheartening to discover how many good souls abandoned this ship.

  13. Ted,

    Good to have you aboard.

  14. Welcome Ted. Being somewhat interested in photography myself, I think it would interesting to hear about some of your adventures for LRH along those lines. It’s good to see you doing well. Looks like the dogs are taking very good care of you!

  15. Thanks for coming forward Ted and speaking up. May you and life continue to do great things together.

  16. “Denver Mission was big. An HQS Course operated in the unfinished basement of a storefront with over 100 enthusiastic students. The supervision was tough and unreasonable. The 4 – 5 month comprehensive course on the basics of Scientology cost just $100. Academy Levels in those days were only a few hundred bucks.”

    Goes to show real estate isn’t the why which LRH missed. The high prices and public staying away from the org’s reging other intention weirdness, violating HCO PL URGENT, ORG PROGRAMMING, would change a lot. To say it’s everyone’s fault; I’d say it’s everyone’s fault for not getting Miscavige off the lines for stopping the training momentum you describe for example. We could have courserooms filled like this again. Miscavige will never reform himself. He’d have to admit fault for changing everything.

    Group pressure forcing Comm-ev and removal is the best way in my opinion. The writeup was interesting, I hope you and other vets continue to share more insights Ted. Some of this info you mention, like the size of Denver etc, is news to me.

    You mentioned long term gradual complicity, this is a good point and it’s the thought blocker which SO members are facing when I talked to a couple of them. I’ve tried to point out they’ve been in a system which is so falsely rigged, and until now they didn’t have a chance. The SO won’t be able to handle this if they don’t see to what degree DM was rigging the game.

    I don’t doubt DM was an effective logistics man and a certain caliber of exec, but goal maker?
    Delegating work and trusting managers and missionaires? Not good per stats. Maybe that’s why LRH decided to not put him in that role.

  17. Thank you Ted!

  18. Thanks to all for your kind comments, though I think many of you remember me differently than I remember myself!

    There may be a time when I will share a few of my stories, stay tuned.

    Otherwise fell free to personally email me.

    Thankfully I am no longer loaded with staledated logged orders, so I can answer anyone!

    Ted

    belizeted@yahoo.com

  19. Dear Ted,
    I never worked with you directly but all the data I ever heard was what a sane productive terminal you were. It’s great to know you are well and enjoying Belize. (I lived in Panama some years ago and loved it!).

Leave a Reply

